What’s it all about?

I’ve been an avid runner for 10+ years. Started serious running in 2000 with entry to the Tampa Bay Marathon. Ever since that (painful) experience I’ve turned running into a lifelong pursuit and passion. I run at least one marathon a year and have even ventured into the netherworld of ultramarathon.

Why am I posting? It is simple really, I’ve acquired a lot of knowledge over the years. Some of it practical, some of it philosophical. One thing I’ve found in the running community is a general desire to share, support and encourage others. In that spirit I think its time I gave back what I can to new runners. This site will probably not be beneficial to a hardcore runner. But, running is a growing sport. More and more I run into people who are training for their first 1/2 marathon or full marathon. Slap the phrase ‘Is running a growing sport’ into the search field on Google. You’ll find that its growing not just in general but also in specificity – 1/2 and full marathons, trail running, ultra’s, etc. You name it, its growing.

Given the growth I’ve identified, coupled with my experiences (good, bad and the ugly) I feel I have something of value to share with those who are just starting the journey. What exactly am I going to share? Great question. On a weekly (hope that isn’t too ambitious!) basis I’ll be sharing my thoughts, knowledge, experience, judgments and general color commentary on the following topics:

  • Desire
  • Commitment
  • Equipment
  • Nutrition
  • Discipline

Not necessarily in that order mind you. Additionally, within each topic there are multiple sub-topics on which I’ll ruminate. Along the way I hope to provide useful, beneficial and practical insight into the activity of running. As you can see from the list above, I’m not strictly talking to those who want to run competitively. This site will be of use to anyone who wants to generally introduce running into their life. Running can be a lifestyle, an outlet for exercise/fitness, a social experience, a process of creation (yep, that’s right) and so much more. I’m going to talk to all of those audiences. So come back regularly. Tell your friends. If you like what I post let me know. If you disagree let me know.

Check back next week for my first topical post.

About Feet on the Road
Avid runner, looking to share what I've learned from trial and error.

4 Responses to What’s it all about?

  1. John Norris says:

    This sounds great, maybe add some info on endurance athletes that run along with other disciplines such as swimming and biking. Best of luck and I look forward to reading.

    • John – thanks for the comments, good idea. Will certainly branch out beyond just running down the road. Right now I’ve probably got the next 35-40 weekly topics lined up (of course that doesn’t mean I’ve actually written the content yet!) but will need more ideas to keep this going and growing. Maybe we can do an email interview exchange about your iron man experience – I bet a lot of people would love to read that.

  2. Big Al says:

    Hey D – will you be doing the Roadrunner Marathon again? We’d love to see you!

    • Al-ee-son – yes, doing it again. We’d love to see you, Mike, the kids, etc. Let’s try and coordinate something. We will most likely do Rockne’s just after I finish, so probably get there around 11:30 AM-ish. Touch base with Pammy via FB and let’s sort it out. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

